In an online rage, a screenshot suggesting the company uses “gelatine from Halal Certified beef” in several of its items went popular on the Indian social media sphere over the weekend.
Cadbury has issued a clarification after a screenshot claiming that the company uses gelatine in some of their products went viral on social media over the weekend, asking consumers to verify facts before sharing them.
The clarification by the British multinational company, which is owned by Mondelez International, came after hundreds of Twitter users called for a Cadbury product boycott. Their boycott call was prompted by a screenshot from a website stating that if a product contains gelatine as an ingredient, it was made from beef, which was widely shared on social media.
Issuing clarification over the issue, the company wrote,” The screenshot shared in the Tweet is not related to Mondelez products manufactured in India. All the products manufactured and sold in India are 100% vegetarian. The green dot on the wrapper signifies that”.
“Only #boycottcadbury Won’t do. Must be penalized for playing with religious beliefs and law of the country (displaying green dot on wrappers) inspite of animal source is added,” one Twitter user said.